Pro Volleyball League ropes in RuPay as title sponsor

MUMBAI: Pro Volleyball League has roped in RuPay, the flagship product of National Payments Corporation of India, as the title sponsor. An initiative of Baseline Ventures and Volleyball Federation of India, the league will now be called the RuPay Pro Volleyball League in its first season.

Expressing his delight on this association, NPCI SVP – Marketing Kunal Kalawatia said “RuPay, is the preferred card for 60cr Indians and 1100+ banks issue a RuPay Card today. Volleyball is a great team sport and already played across the length and breadth of the country. Like RuPay powering the Digital payments initiative, we believe that Pro Volleyball league will bring this sport to the forefront and connect the nation with a common spirit. With RuPay Pro Volley Ball League we want to celebrate the power of a young & healthy India.”

Talking about the development, Baseline Ventures Co-Founder & MD Tuhin Mishra said, “We are delighted to have RuPay come on board as the Title Sponsor of the league. It is great to see that RuPay has invested in a sport that is fast-paced, exciting and perfectly matched for our young and dynamic nation. The Pro Volleyball League aims to start a volleyball revolution to match the digital India revolution that RuPay is leading. And to help us in this endeavour, we couldn’t have found better partners than RuPay.”

Welcoming RuPay on board, former India International player and VFI secretary general Ramavtar Singh Jakhar said, “We wholeheartedly welcome RuPay on board of PVL. It’s heartening to see such a prestigious brand which is also the pride of our Nation to support a truly grassroots mass sport such as Volleyball. We are sure it will be a great association.”

The NPCI is an umbrella organisation for operating retail payments and settlement systems in India. It is an initiative of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and Indian Banks’ Association (IBA) and provides a range of services like the National Automated Clearing House (NACH), Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS) Immediate Payment Service, (IMPS), Unified Payments Interface (UPI), Bharat Interface for Money (BHIM), BHIM Aadhaar, National Electronic Toll Collection (NETC) and Bharat Bill Pay. A flagship product of the NPCI, RuPay was made the card of choice for the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana.

The inaugural edition of the league will begin with Kochi Blue Spikers taking on U Mumba Volley on 2nd February at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Kochi. The six teams that were announced in November 2018, will play each other in a round robin format in the first season that will have 18 matches.

All the matches will be broadcast live on Sony Six and Sony Ten 3 and will be streamed live on SonyLIV.