INS elects Jayant Mammen as president

MUMBAI: Malayala Manorama executive editor Jayant Mammen Mathew has been elected as the President of the Indian Newspaper Society (INS), on Friday. He succeeds Akila Urankar of Business Standard.

Lav Saksena will serve as the secretary general, while Shailesh Gupta of Mid Day newspaper will be the deputy president and L. Adimoolam of ‘Health and The Antiseptic’, the vice-president of the INS. Sharad Saxena of Hindustan Times has been made the organisation’s honorary treasurer.

The 41-member executive committee includes Mohan Gupta of Dainik Jagran and Mohit Jain of Economic Times.