DSport to broadcast fifth season of Pakistan Super League from 20 Feb

MUMBAI: DSport, a premium sports channel from Discovery India network, will broadcast the fifth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) live for cricket fans in India. PSL, in its fifth edition, is scheduled to be played from 20th February to 22th March. All the matches will be played at 2:30 pm and 7:30 pm respectively.

Sir Vivian Richards, Legendary West Indian Cricketer, and Mentor of PSL Defending Champions, Quetta Gladiators, said, “I am looking forward to PSL as this is the first major T20 league of the year in a heavy cricket season which culminates with World T20 later in Australia this year. Consistent high-quality contests in leagues such as PSL where players from across the world play help them to prepare better for global tournaments.”

The league boasts of cricketers like Kieron Pollard, Fabian Allen, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons (West Indies), Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Colin Ingram (South Africa), Jason Roy, Moeen Ali, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan (England), Chris Lynn, Shane Watson, Ben Cutting (Australia) and cricketers from Pakistan including Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman and Hasan Ali.

“The presence of international stars will ensure each and every match will offer high quality contest – a core proposition to engage cricket aficionados in the country. We are working towards aggregating marquee properties across variety of sports with an aim to engage passionate fan communities” said Discovery South Asia senior VP affiliate sales and head sports business Vijay Rajput.

The first match will be played between the defending champions Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United on 20th February. Other franchises who will be seen in action include the likes of last season’s runner-up Peshawar Zalmi; Lahore Qalandars; Karachi Kings and Multan Sultans.

You may be interested