Anupam Kher, Zoya Akhtar among artistes invited for Academy membership

MUMBAI: The Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences, which organises Hollywood’s most prestigious awards show The Oscar Awards, has invited 842 members of the film industry to be members.

Directors Zoya Akhtar, Anurag Kashyap, and actor Anupam Kher are among those who have been invited. Other invitees include ‘Lunchbox’ writer-director Ritesh Batra, actress Archie Punjabi and ‘Late Night ‘ director Nisha Ganatra.

In the Visual Effects department, Sherry Bharda and Srinivas Mohan have been invited.
The 2019 class is 50% women, 29% people of color, and represents 59 countries. Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2019.

Six individuals have been invited to join the Academy by multiple branches. These individuals must select one branch upon accepting membership. New members will be welcomed into the Academy at invitation-only receptions in the fall.

Tom Holland, who will be seen this week playing Spiderman in a new movie, has also been invited as has Oscar winner Lady Gaga ‘A Star Is Born’.

You may be interested