Live Post
JD(U) under Nitish decides to become part of NDA, denies split in party
Customs arrests Air India cabin crew for smuggling ganja
Government, RBI in talks to shore up PSU bank capital
Bihar flood toll mounts to 153, 17 districts affected
IndiGo cancels 84 flights over engine issues
Trai gets tough on call drops; slaps penalty of upto Rs 10 lakh
Yogi Adityanath targets 'Yuvraj' Rahul Gandhi: 'Will not permit Gorakhpur to become picnic spot'
Shivraj to lead BJP in 2018 election: Amit Shah

Government appoints two part-time members to TRAI

MUMBAI: The central government has appointed IIT Delhi professor Dr M Jagadesh Kumar and former secretary general of National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) Rajiv Sharma as part-time members of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI).

The appointment is for a period of three years from the date on which they assume office or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Dr M Jagadesh Kumar was born in Mamidala, Nalgonda district, Andhra Pradesh. He obtained his MS (EE) and PhD (EE) degrees from the department of electrical engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

Rajiv Sharma is a 1976 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre. Prior to his appointment to NHRC, he was holding the post of additional chief secretary to the government of Rajasthan and principal resident commissioner, Rajasthan in New Delhi.