12 Dec 2017
Live Post
Star Gold Select HD partners select DTH ops to showcase ‘Mughal-E-Azam’ in colour, B&W
ALTBalaji offers subtitles for its original shows in three regional languages
Unitech Moves Supreme Court Against Government Taking Over
Court sends accused to police custody for two days in actress case
UP shocker: 15-year-old cancer survivor gang-raped, then raped by passerby too

Ten Sports signs three-year broadcast deal with ‘Hyundai A-League’

MUMBAI: Zee Entertainment Enterprises-owned sports broadcaster Ten Sports has signed a three-year exclusive deal to broadcast Australia’s premier football league ‘Hyundai A-League’ live from 2014-15 to 2016-17.

The league is run by the Football Federation of Australia (FFA) and has 10 teams, nine from Australia and one from New Zealand.

The deal was brokered by World Sport Group, the distribution agent for the Hyundai A-League and FFA Cup worldwide on behalf of the FFA.

Ten Sports will broadcast the league for three seasons. It will showcase 86 matches per season, including the five games of the final series playoffs.

Ten Sports will also broadcast weekly highlights of the league and 10 games of the FFA Cup for each of the three seasons. The football programming will be available live during the day time on weekends.

Ten Sports CEO Rajesh Sethi said, “At Ten Sports we endeavour to give our viewers the best of football action from across the globe and we are proud to add the A-League and the FFA Cup to our bouquet of premier football content. Australian football has grown leaps and bounds and offers to Ten Sports and Ten Action a different dimension to our existing portfolio. A lot of top stars have started plying their trade in the A-League and we will closely work to promote the A-League, its teams and players across the Indian subcontinent.”

Ten will broadcast the A-League football matches live across the Ten Network on Ten Action, Ten Sports and Ten HD. Live-streaming will be on tensports.com.

FFA CEO David Gallop added, “Football Federation Australia is delighted that Ten Sports will be broadcasting the Hyundai A-League and the FFA Cup across the subcontinent for the next three seasons. This is fantastic news for Australian football and deepens our engagement with the Asian region. The A-League is in the top three professional competitions in Asia for playing standard and sporting entertainment, and there’s a growing audience in the region keen to follow our clubs and marquee players. I thank Ten Sports for their commitment to the A-League and we look forward to connecting with football fans in India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.”

Each season of the Hyundai A-League runs from October to April and includes a 27 round regular season with an end-of-season final series playoff tournament involving the highest-placed teams. This culminates in the grand finale.

Winners from the A-League qualify for the AFC Champions League, which is the UEFA Champions League equivalent in Asia. The league allows each team to have a marquee player, which has over the years led to the making of stars like Alessandro Del Piero, Shinji Ono and Emile Heskey.

Launched in April 2012, Ten Action is a football centric channel broadcasting the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Europa league, UEFA Super Cup, French League, I league, Brazilian League, Skybet Football League, Capital One Cup, Copa Del Rey, German Cup, Coppa Italia and club TV programming.