Live Post
Delhi: Worker dies after inhaling toxic gases while cleaning sewer inside hospital premises
Bihar floods: Toll rises to 253, more than a crore people are now homeless
Key accused in Rs 700-crore Bihar fund transfer scam dies in Bhagalpur hospital
War won't give China any clear gain, only cause casualties, assesses govt
Saudi carrier says Qatar has not approved hajj flights
Three Kashmiri youth arrested for disrespecting National Anthem
2008 Malegaon Blast Case: Supreme Court Verdict On Lt Col Purohit's Bail Today

Star India gains from Nimbus’ loss, bags Asia Cup rights

MUMBAI: The Star India juggernaut continues. After making a clean sweep by acquiring most of the sports properties, Star India has acquired the television and sponsorship rights of Asia Cup 2014 to be held in Bangladesh.

After terminating Nimbus Sport’s agreement, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) had floated a fresh tender for television and sponsorship rights. Nimbus had acquired the media and sponsorship rights of the tournament for $50 million for four years till 2014. Nimbus Sport in turn had sub-licensed the rights for Asia Cup 2014 to Neo Sports, the sports broadcasting subsidiary arm of Nimbus, in India.

Star India president sports Nitin Kukreja confirmed the development. “We have got the Asia Cup rights for the 2014 edition of the tournament,” he said.

Without revealing much about the bidding process, the ACC said that its executive board met in Colombo on 4 January and accepted the bid for broadcast and grounds rights from Star India for the Asia Cup 2014 scheduled to be held in Bangladesh.

A total of 11 matches will be played during the tournament from 25 February to 8 March.

The ACC has decided to invite Afghanistan to participate in the Asia Cup 2014. Afghanistan will now join Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as the fifth team in the tournament.

The Asia Cup matches will be telecast on Star Sports, the sports broadcast subsidiary of Star India. Star Sports also holds the media rights for international matches played in Australia, India and England. It has the rights to International Cricket Council (ICC) events till 2015 and Champions League T20 matches till 2017.