24 Nov 2017
Live Post
PV Sindhu Enters Quarter-final of Hong Kong Open Super Series
Padmavati cleared for Dec 1 release in Britain, SC allows advocate to file fresh plea
Bharti family pledges Rs 7000 crore towards philanthropy
Indian Navy gets its first woman pilot, 3 women NAI officers
Colonel arrested for raping Lt- Colonel's daughter in Shimla
Pradyuman murder case: Ashok was beaten, tortured and sedated to force his confession, claims wife
Election Commission grants 'two leaves' symbol to unified AIADMK

Star India CEO Uday Shankar among 17 finalists for EY Enterpreneur of the Year Award

MUMBAI: Star India chairman and CEO Uday Shankar is among the 17 finalists firmed up by global professional services organisation EY for the 18th Entrepreneur of the Year – India 2016.

The finalists have been selected from among 250 outstanding nominations and will be felicitated at a grand celebratory Awards Banquet to be held on 24 February in New Delhi.

Star India CEO Uday ShankarTogether, these 17 finalists have combined revenues of over Rs 154,335 crore ($23.38 billion) and are providing employment to over 5.2 lakh people in India and globally.

A nine-member independent jury led by Sun Pharmaceuticals Industries MD Dilip Shanghvi selected the finalists.

Other Jury members include Subodh Bhargava, Chairman, Tata Communications; Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Executive Vice-Chairman, Info Edge (India) Limited; Naina Lal Kidwai, Chairman, Max Financial Services; Uday Kotak, Managing Director, Kotak Mahindra Bank; Kalpana Morparia, Chief Executive Officer, JP Morgan Chase South Asia and India; Rishad Premji, Chief Strategy Officer, Wipro; Renuka Ramnath, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Multiples Alternate Asset Management and A Vellayan, Executive Chairman, Murugappa Group.

Said Shanghvi,  “Like previous years, this year’s finalists too represent extremely successful companies that have not only disrupted the industry with a new business model but have disrupted themselves to chart a new growth path. We need more entrepreneurs to propel our country’s growth and it is important to recognize such innovative entrepreneurs.”

 The finalists for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016 India Awards are:

►    Ram Gopal Agarwal, Chairman, Dhanuka Agritech

►    Vishwavir Ahuja, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, RBL Bank

►    Hari Mohan Bangur, Managing Director, Shree Cement

►    R Dinesh, Managing Director, TVS Logistics Services

►    Dr Abhay Firodia, Chairman, Force Motors

►    Ajit Isaac, Chairman and Managing Director, Quess Corp

►    Girish Mathrubootham, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Freshdesk

►    Ravi Modi, Chairman and Managing Director, Vedant Fashions (Manyavar)

►    Vikas Oberoi, Chairman and Managing Director, Oberoi Realty

►    Darshan Patel, Chairman and Managing Director, Vini Cosmetics

►    M. P. Ramachandran, Chairman and Managing Director, Jyothy Laboratories

►    Vivek Chaand Sehgal, Chairman, Motherson Sumi Systems

►    Rashesh Shah, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Edelweiss Group

►    Uday Shankar, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Star India

►    Samprada Singh, Chairman Emeritus and Basudeo Narain Singh, Executive Chairman, Alkem Laboratories

►    Chandubhai Virani, Whole time Director, Balaji Wafers

Nandan Nilekani will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his invaluable contribution to the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), which is a pioneering citizen identification program, unparalleled in scope and scale worldwide. As the honorary advisor to the National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI), he has also helped create the ecosystem for digital financial services in India. He has played a major role in the growth of the Indian Information Technology industry and is a recipient of the Padma Bhushan, India’s third highest civilian honour, in 2009.

Said Kotak Mahindra Bank MD Uday Kotak and winner of the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2014, “I was delighted to be part of this jury and impressed with the robustness of the process. This year’s finalists truly define the India of today and tomorrow. What is really interesting is that we are seeing real-world businesses adopting digital and transforming themselves. My message to every entrepreneur in India is, Go out there, build your dream and more importantly, build a business model that is sustainable over time.”

The selection criterion included the nominee’s entrepreneurial spirit, recent financial performance, strategic direction and global impact, product or service innovation, company leadership including personal integrity and risk-taking, values and key employee initiatives, and involvement with the community.

The winners will be announced across several categories, while the national winner will represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year (WEOY) awards in Monte Carlo from 8-11 June.

Said EY India chairman Rajiv Memani, “What strikes me about our 2016 Finalists is how they have acquired tremendous scale and size from what were clearly modest beginnings. A strong focus on the customer and a business model based on innovative products and services for niche markets have enabled them to create a lasting impact. Also, reliance on technology and a bold vision for the future has helped them scale up rapidly.” 

The past winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year India Awards  include Vinita and Nilesh Gupta (Lupin Limited), Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla (Serum Institute of India), Uday Kotak (Kotak Mahindra Bank), Adi Godrej (Godrej Group), Rahul Bhatia (Interglobe Enterprises), Dilip Shanghvi (Sun Pharmaceuticals),  Anand G Mahindra (Mahindra Group), Anil Agarwal (Vedanta Resources), Tulsi Tanti (Suzlon Energy), Kumar Mangalam Birla (Aditya Birla Group), Sunil Bharti Mittal (Bharti Group), Ratan Tata (Tata Group), N.R Narayana Murthy (Infosys), Brijmohan Lall Munjal (Hero Group), (Mukesh  Ambani (Reliance Industries), and Subhash Chandra (Zee Telefilms).