20 Nov 2017
Live Post
Strong 6.9 magnitude earthquake hits Tibet near India-China border
Navy Says Genitalia Air Display 'Absolutely Unacceptable'
Moody's Withdraws RCom's Corporate Family Rating On 'Default'
Sushil Kumar strolls to national gold with three walkovers
Madras High Court confirms two-year jail term of Natarajan in 1994 car import case

Sony ropes in five sponsors for Indo–West Indies series

MUMBAI: Sony Pictures Networks India (SPNI) has roped in five sponsors for the upcoming India–West Indies bilateral series featuring five ODIs and one T20.

Amazon India, Idea 4G and Samsung are the co-presenting sponsors while Raymond and Byju’s are associate sponsors.

The broadcaster will have two language feeds for the series. Sony Six and Sony Six HD will air the English feed while Ten 3 and Ten 1 HD will have the Hindi feed. Sony Liv will live-stream the series.

The series, which will be held from 23 June to 9 July, will be the first for Team India on a foreign soil in 2017.

The broadcast timings of the matches will be suitable for Indian audiences. The first four ODIs will air from 6.30 pm IST while the fifth ODI will air at 7.30 pm. The lone T20 will be telecast at 9 pm.

This will be the first major India series to be broadcast by Ten Sports Network after its acquisition by Sony. Taj Television India, the company that owns and operators Ten Sports channels, has become a wholly owned subsidiary of Sony with effect from 1 March.

Sony has two more India series lined up for 2017–18 involving Sri Lanka and South Africa. Immediately after the West Indies tour, India will visit Sri Lanka for a three-Test, five-ODI and one-T20 series. It will tour South Africa early next year for four Tests, five ODIs and two T20 internationals.

In August 2016, Sony had acquired Ten Sports from ZEEL for $385 million (Rs 2578 crore).

Ten Sports holds broadcast rights to major cricket boards (South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe). In addition, Ten Sports holds rights to wrestling (WWE), football (UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, French League, English Football League Cup), tennis (WTA Events, ATP events), golf (European Tour, Asian Tour, Ryder Cup, US PGA Championship, LPGA Tour, Professional Golf Tour of India and Golf Channel Block), athletics (Asian Games, Commonwealth Games), motor sports (Moto GP) and cycling (Tour de France) events.