Live Post
McDonald’s to shut down 169 outlets in India
Triple talaq violates rights of Muslim women: SC
WhatsApp Coloured Text Status Now Rolling Out to Android and iPhone
Airtel to launch its own Rs 2500 4G smartphone before Diwali
Sasikala uses 'barricaded corridor' in jail premises as private space, claims former DIG Roopa
Police verification for passport to go online within a year
'Routine run' kills second IMA cadet in 2 days; 5 in hospital
MLAs supporting TTV Dinakaran meet Governor, demand Palaniswami's removal

Sony acquires broadcast, digital rights to Bangladesh Premier League 2016

MUMBAI: Sony Pictures Networks (SPN) has announced the acquisition of the broadcast and digital rights to the fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

Known as the biggest cricket extravaganza in Bangladesh, the tournament commenced on 4 November, and will be telecast on Sony Six and Sony Six HD as well as streamed live on the Sony Liv app and website.

The on-air broadcast rights include the telecast of 43 live matches of the tournament in the Indian sub-continent. Along with live streaming, Sony Liv will be providing fans with a lot of exclusive video-on-demand (VOD) content like highlights, best sixes, best catches, fielding and more.

BPL 2016, which is now in its fourth season, has grown in popularity with each edition. The tournament is played in the T20 format and will feature seven teams including six teams from the previous season and one new franchise from Khulna and Rajshahi. Apart from Khulna and Rajarshi, the other teams are Comilla Victorians, Barisal Bulls, Rangpur Riders, Dhaka Dynamites and Chittagong Vikings.

This season of the tournament will see the likes of some of the biggest names in cricket—Dwayne Bravo, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Dwayne Smith.

The first match of BPL 2016 will be played between Rajshahi Kings and Comilla Victorians at Dhaka. The top four teams from the group stage will qualify for the knockout stage, which includes the semi-finals, the eliminator and the final match. The semi-finals will take place on 8 December and the final will be played on 9 December in Dhaka.

SPNI president of distribution and sports business Rajesh Kaul said, “Sony Pictures Networks India has been in the forefront of bringing and popularising the T20 league format of cricket. Following our previous offerings of Indian Premier League, Caribbean Premier League, South African T20 league and Karnataka Premier League, we are pleased to announce the addition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) to our T20 cricket portfolio. The BPL line-up is particularly impressive with international cricketers like Chris Gayle, Thisara Perera, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and more that our viewers can look forward to.”