Live Post
Delhi: Worker dies after inhaling toxic gases while cleaning sewer inside hospital premises
Bihar floods: Toll rises to 253, more than a crore people are now homeless
Key accused in Rs 700-crore Bihar fund transfer scam dies in Bhagalpur hospital
War won't give China any clear gain, only cause casualties, assesses govt
Saudi carrier says Qatar has not approved hajj flights
Three Kashmiri youth arrested for disrespecting National Anthem
2008 Malegaon Blast Case: Supreme Court Verdict On Lt Col Purohit's Bail Today

Pro Wrestling League 2 to hit the mat on 2 Jan

MUMBAI: Clearing the cloud on the speculation that demonetisation was going to impact the schedule of Pro Wrestling League Season 2, the organisers have said that they have fixed the new dates of the league from 2 to 19 January.

Pro-Wrestling-League-coverPWL 2, which has Sony as its broadcast partner, was earlier scheduled to start its second season in December. The second edition of PWL will generate approximately 100 hours of TV content compared to 36 hours in the first season.

ProSportify, in association with the Wrestling Federation of India, today announced the rescheduled dates for the second season that would witness Delhi as the host city for all the matches.

The announcement on rescheduling is heartily welcomed by the international players and Olympic medallists, Erica Wiebe, Mariya Stadnik, Commonwealth gold medallist Odunayo and silver medallist Yana Rattigan as they get an opportunity to celebrate Christmas.

“I’m very happy with the new dates. We would be having ample time to be here with our family on Christmas,” reiterated Olympic gold medallist Erica Wiebe of Canada.

“Despite challenges, we take pride in hosting this mega wrestling event that features the largest pool of Olympians and world champions, and we promise the participation of top players of the world in large numbers. I’m very certain that wrestling enthusiasts would welcome the move despite all the challenges that have come our way,” said WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

kartikeya-sharma“While the season is rescheduled by a fortnight, the ethos and high standards we have achieved in the second season remain intact. Our focus is on the top medallist and quality players with greater fan experience as our distinguishing factor. We aim to surpass high expectations of wrestling fans worldwide.” said ProSportify founder, promoter Kartikeya Sharma.

The six teams participating this year will be from Delhi, Mumbai, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Jaipur. The second edition will follow the same format as of the inaugural season, with each team comprising nine players, five men, four women; five Indian and four international wrestlers. The tournament will feature a total of 18 ties—15 in the league phase, two semi-finals and a grand finale.

About a dozen of Olympic medallists including Olympic and world champion Vladimir Khinchegashvili, three-time Olympic medallist Mariya Stadnik, world champion Oksana Herhel and Olympic champion Erica Wiebe would be the attraction of this league. Among them, Yogeshwar Dutt, Sakshi Malik and Sandeep Tomar will be the centres of attraction.

Besides, star player of season 1’s winning team and Commonwealth Games gold medallist and Olympian Odunayo Adekuoroye, along with Olympian Vasilisa Marzaliuk and CWG medallist Yana Rattigan, joins the bandwagon with the Phogat sisters, World Champion Bajrang Punia and former Asian champion Amit Dhankar as star attractions in the second edition of the PWL.

Also Read: