15 Dec 2017
Live Post
Disney set to take driver’s seat in India with the addition of Star, Tata Sky
DishTV launches new offers in Tamil Nadu
Nothing is finalised on pay hike of Indian cricketers: CK Khanna
Exit polls predict BJP victory in Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh elections
Govt. clears Bill banning instant triple talaq
Congress Request Ahead of Gujarat Poll Counting Rejected By Supreme Court

Masters Champions League teams to invest $25 mn over 10 yrs

MUMBAI: The Masters Champions League (MCL), a Twenty20 cricket league featuring retired players, will get $150 million from its team franchises over 10 years.

Speaking to TelevisionPost.com, MCL chief executive director Sam Khan revealed that the six franchises would each invest $25 million over 10 years. “This league aims to bring back heroes from yesteryear. The event is being organised under the aegis of the Emirates Cricket Board,” he said.

Sam KhanMCL is in talks with sports broadcasters to telecast the matches. “On the broadcast front, Star and Sony have both expressed interest,” Khan said.

According to Khan, 50 per cent of the central revenue pool would be disbursed among the franchises. “We are talking to companies for sponsorship. The initial deals will be for three years. We are looking for five central sponsors,” he said.

MCL unveiled the first franchisee called Libra Legends. It is co-owned by Popcorn Sports and Entertainment and Kiri Group.

Pooja Jhunjhunwala of Popcorn Sports and Entertainment said, “We wish to give quality entertainment to the masses. Owning a team under MCL is an honour. Our reason to be associated with MCL is their unique concept. We are looking forward to having the best cricketers in the team and are eagerly waiting to set the pitch on fire.”

Jhunjhunwala cited the example of the Tendulkar–Warne team matches that took place in the US as an example of interest in cricketers from the past.

The first edition of the MCL, involving 18 matches, will take place in the Middle East from 28 January to 13 February 2016.

The matches will be played in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The MCL has got the approval from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly will be playing for the Libra Legends franchise. Brian Lara, Adam Gilchrist, Wasim Akram, Virender Sehwag, and Jacques Kallis have been signed up as ‘icons’ so far.