Live Post
McDonald’s to shut down 169 outlets in India
Triple talaq violates rights of Muslim women: SC
WhatsApp Coloured Text Status Now Rolling Out to Android and iPhone
Airtel to launch its own Rs 2500 4G smartphone before Diwali
Sasikala uses 'barricaded corridor' in jail premises as private space, claims former DIG Roopa
Police verification for passport to go online within a year
'Routine run' kills second IMA cadet in 2 days; 5 in hospital
MLAs supporting TTV Dinakaran meet Governor, demand Palaniswami's removal

ISL to hold first ever player auction on 10 July

MUMBAI: Former Indian captain and star striker Sunil Chhetri will be among the 10 of India’s finest footballing talents in the first Indian Super League (ISL) player auction on 10 July.

All 10 players in the auction list had missed on the inaugural season of the ISL last year owing to their individual contracts with respective I-League clubs.

Six of the ten players in the auction list, namely Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Thoi Singh, Arata Izumi, Anas Edathodika, and Karanjeet Singh, have signed with ISL promoters Football Sports Development Ltd as free agents.

Jackichand Singh and Seityasen Singh have been loaned from I-League club Royal Wahingdoh FC, while Rino Anto and Eugeneson Lyngdoh are loaned from Bengaluru FC.

Four-time AIFF Player of the Year Sunil Chhetri commands the highest base price in the ISL player auction at Rs 80 lakh, followed by goalkeeper Karanjeet Singh at Rs 60 lakh. Robin Singh, Arata Izumi, and Anas Edathodika have been pegged at Rs 40 lakh base price, while Thoi Singh is just a notch below at Rs 39 lakh. Eugeneson Lyngdoh will be at Rs 27.50 lakh base price, while Jackichand Singh and Seityasen Singh will be at Rs 20 lakh each. At Rs 17.50 lakh, Rino Anto commands the lowest base price in the auction list.

Additionally, Football Sports Development Ltd announced an extensive list of 113 Indian players for the Hero ISL 2015 draft. The eight ISL franchisees as of date have 64 Indian players on their roster either retained from last year or signed from the open market. The comprehensive draft list will help the franchisees to fill up a total of 40 positions of the Indian player quota. The draft will be held on the same day as the player auction on 10 July 2015.

Player auction list:

1. Sunil Chhetri
2. Jackichand Singh
3. Seityasen Singh
4. Karanjeet Singh
5. Thoi Singh
6. Robin Singh
7. Rino Anto
8. Anas Edathodika
9. Arata Izumi
10. Eugeneson Lyngdoh