25 Sep 2017
Live Post
India-focused OTT production entity Golden Karavan launched
Woman alleges gang rape by two men in SUV
Film producer Karim Morani surrenders in rape case
Ryan school murder case: CBI team reaches school, starts probe
Karti closed many foreign accounts, shifted money: CBI
Pakistan shells border posts, hamlets in J&K; BSF jawans among 7 injured
Sushma Swaraj raises issue of terrorism, H1-B with US Secretary of State

Indian Panorama unveils films to be screened at International Film Festival of India

MUMBAI: Indian Panorama 2016 has announced its final selection of feature and non-feature films that will be screened at the 47th International Film Festival of India, 2016, in Goa.

The jury for feature films, headed by actor and director Rajendra Singh Babu has selected 22 films out of 230 eligible entries.

The 13-member jury took a month to shortlist the films. The jury comprises producer and director Rama Vij, director Arup Manna, producer and director c producer and director Girish Mohite, writer Dr K Puttaswamy, producer and director N Krishnakumar, filmmaker Sabyasachi Mohapatra, director and columnist Sanjay Pawar, critic and journalist Satinder Mohan, journalist and film critic Swapan Mullick, writer and filmmaker Uday Shankar Pani, and producer and director Shri Ahathian.

The jury has recommended G Prabha’s Sanskrit film ‘Ishti’ as the opening feature film of Indian Panorama 2016. SS Rajamouli’s 2015 National Award winning film ‘Baahubali’ has also been included in the Indian Panorama 2016, under the 8.6 clause of the Indian Panorama 2016 Regulations.

Three mainstream films—Raja Krishna Menon’s ‘Airlift’, Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Bajirao Mastani’ and Ali Abbas Jaffar’s ‘Sultan’—are also selected under Indian Panorama Section of the festival.

The complete list of 26 feature films are as follows:

26 feature films

The non-feature films jury chaired by documentary filmmaker Shri Arvind Sinha has picked 21 films out of 198 eligible entries. The seven-member jury took 15 days to finalise the selections.

For the non-feature film section, Bobo KH-directed ‘Ima Sabitri’ has been chosen as the opening film. Hardik Mehta’s National Award-winning film ‘Amdavad Ma Famous’ is included in the Indian Panorama 2016, by virtue of direct entry under the 8.6 clause of the Indian Panorama 2016 Regulations.

The 21 non-feature films selected for the Indian Panorama section are:

21 non-feature films selected for the Indian Panorama