Live Post
'84 riots: SC forms body to examine SIT decision to close 199 cases
China Uses Chequebook Diplomacy To Sideline India In Nepal
NDRF rescues 28000, including 6 pregnant women, from floods
Rahul Gandhi launches Indira Canteen project in Bengaluru
Just by fulfilling its commitment to SC, Trai can bring down mobile call rates by half
Google to Pay Apple $3 Billion to Remain Default iOS Device Search Engine
Daniel Craig confirmed as 007 in upcoming James Bond film Bond 25

ICC to produce 13 live games of Women’s T20 WC for the first time

MUMBAI: For the first time in the history of ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2016, the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) ICC TV will produce live broadcast coverage of 13 women’s matches. This, in turn, will be carried around the world by ICC’s global broadcast partner Star Sports and other broadcast partners.

In the four ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournaments so far, only the semifinals and final were broadcast live. In what will be a massive boost to women’s cricket and exposure to the women’s event, there will be live coverage of 10 out of 22 group matches in addition to the two semifinals and the final.

This expanded coverage is in line with ICC’s strategic plan to further promote and publicise women’s cricket, which continues to scale new heights globally.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said, “The ICC is committed to promoting all formats of the game, both men’s and women’s. The quality and depth of women’s cricket continues to improve year on year, producing an exciting, skillful and attractive brand of cricket.

“The live broadcast coverage of 13 matches from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 India 2016 is part of this strategy and will provide further impetus to the growth of the women’s game. I am confident that fans will enjoy watching the stars in action.”

ICC Women’s Committee Chair Clare Connor was delighted with the news. “It is fantastic and ground-breaking news for the women’s game that 13 matches from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 India 2016 will be broadcast live across the world. On the eve of International Women’s Day it is powerful to see ICC’s commitment towards driving equality across men’s and women’s cricket. These broadcast matches will help us grow the women’s game worldwide, inspiring the next generation to pick up a bat and ball and play cricket.”

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 India 2016 will feature the eight sides participating in the ICC Women’s Championship along with Bangladesh and Ireland, which progressed from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier Thailand 2015. England won the inaugural tournament in England but then Australia won in Barbados, Colombo and Dhaka to complete a hat-trick of titles.

The ICC has also announced the schedule of broadcast matches for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 India 2016, which will be played alongside the men’s Super-10 matches from 15 March.

The following is the schedule of women’s broadcast matches:
15 March – India v Bangladesh, Bengaluru (1530) Group B
17 March – England v Bangladesh, Bengaluru (1530) Group B
19 March – India v Pakistan, Delhi (1530), Group B
21 March – Australia v New Zealand, Nagpur (1530) Group A
22 March – England v India, Dharamsala (1530), Group B
24 March – Australia v Sri Lanka, Delhi (1530), Group A; Pakistan v Bangladesh, Delhi (1930) Group B
26 March – Australia v Ireland, Delhi (1530), Group A
27 March – West Indies v India, Mohali (1530), Group B
28 March – South Africa v Sri Lanka, Bengaluru (1530), Group A
30 March – First semi-final, Delhi (1430)
31 March – Second semi-final, Mumbai (1430)
3 April – Final, Kolkata (1430)