25 Nov 2017
Live Post
PV Sindhu Enters Quarter-final of Hong Kong Open Super Series
Padmavati cleared for Dec 1 release in Britain, SC allows advocate to file fresh plea
Bharti family pledges Rs 7000 crore towards philanthropy
Indian Navy gets its first woman pilot, 3 women NAI officers
Colonel arrested for raping Lt- Colonel's daughter in Shimla
Pradyuman murder case: Ashok was beaten, tortured and sedated to force his confession, claims wife
Election Commission grants 'two leaves' symbol to unified AIADMK

ESPN in pact to provide global coverage for Sachin & Warne’s ‘Cricket All Stars’ series

MUMBAI: Sports media brand ESPN has entered into an agreement to deliver coverage of the ‘Cricket All Stars’ series, promoted by Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne, to fans around the world. The three-match series will be played in T-20 format.

As reported earlier, Star Sports will broadcast the series in India.

Coverage of the tournament will be delivered by ESPN3 in the US, TSNGo in Canada, ESPN Caribbean, ESPN Play in Latin America, and ESPN Player in EMEA and Asia territories.

Live coverage will also be carried by ESPN3 in the US, Australia and New Zealand, and ESPN Play in the Caribbean. Additionally, it will air on delay on ESPN2 in the Caribbean, Australia and New Zealand.

Featured guest panellists joining ESPN moderator Alan Wilkins discussing their on-field rivalry and the current state of global cricket will be Tendulkar, Warne and Wasim Akram.

The Cricket All Stars kicks off on 7 November at Citi Field in New York City. The second match will be on November 11 at Minute Maid Park in Houston. The final match in the series will be on November 14 at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.

It is pertinent to note that Citi Field, Minute Maid Park and Dodger Stadium are homes for Major League Baseball (MLB) teams New York Mets, Houston Astros and Los Angeles Dodgers, respectively.

New York-headquartered full-service sports, entertainment and media marketing agency Leverage Agency has partnered United Sports Associates, an Australia-based global sports and talent management company, for the inaugural Cricket All Stars tour.

Meanwhile, the squads for the first ever All Stars series were announced via a live draw.

Captains Tendulkar and Warne each drew names, based on position, from the custom-made Citi Cricket All Stars Cup as they rounded out the final teams for ‘Sachin’s Blasters’ and ‘Warne’s Warriors’.

The teams are as follows:

Sachin’s Blasters: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Brian Lara, Sourav Ganguly, Mahela Jaywardane, Carl Hooper, Moin Khan, Muttiah Muralitharan, Graeme Swann, Curtley Ambrose, Shaun Pollock, Glenn McGrath, Lance Klusener, and Shoaib Akhtar.

Warne’s Warriors: Shane Warne (captain), Matthew Hayden, Michael Vaughn, Ricky Ponting, Jonty Rhodes, Jacques Kallis, Andrew Symonds, Kumar Sangakkara, Saqlain Mushtaq, Daniel Vettori, Courtney Walsh, Wasim Akram, Allan Donald, and Ajit Agarkar.

“It was great to be in the same room with all of these amazing players today,” said Tendulkar. “We are all good friends off the pitch, but we are also fiercely competitive. It will be exciting to play on the same team as some of my former rivals, and of course, it will be great to face Shane again. What makes it even more special is that we will be playing in Major League Baseball Stadiums in America in front of new and existing fans.”

“These are some of the greatest players in recent cricket history,” said Warne. “You can’t go wrong with any of these guys on your team. Either way the draw went, I would consider that a fantasy team. Warne’s Warriors will be ready for a great game on Saturday.”

Major sponsors for the Cricket All Stars are Citi, State Farm, MasterCard, Azur Global, Oxigen and Sling. Additional sponsors include Lycamobile, Etihad and Uber.