19 Nov 2017
Live Post
Strong 6.9 magnitude earthquake hits Tibet near India-China border
Navy Says Genitalia Air Display 'Absolutely Unacceptable'
Moody's Withdraws RCom's Corporate Family Rating On 'Default'
Sushil Kumar strolls to national gold with three walkovers
Madras High Court confirms two-year jail term of Natarajan in 1994 car import case

Champions League T20 gets Oppo Mobiles as title sponsor

MUMBAI: Global technology brand Oppo Mobiles India has acquired the title sponsorship rights to the upcoming season of Champions League T20 (CLT20) that kicks off next week.

Earlier, the mobile handset manufacturer had become the powered-by sponsor of ‘Bigg Boss 8’, the popular reality show hosted by Bollywood superstar Salman Khan.

The leading Chinese smartphone brand made its entry into the Indian market in early 2014 with its flagship device Oppo N1. Oppo has since launched over 10 smartphones in India that cover the price range from below Rs 10,000 to around Rs 40,000 this year. The company also has plans to expand more service centres in the next one year.

Oppo Mobiles India CEO Tom Lu said, “We are truly fortunate to have won the title sponsorship rights to such a prestigious and popular cricket tournament. We are sure, with Oppo Champions League T20 more and more Indian users will get to know about our brand, the technology and the experience our smartphones deliver.”

Star India president sports Nitin Kukreja said, “We are proud to have Oppo Mobiles India as the title sponsor for the Champions League T20. In recent days, the cricketing arena has not witnessed any T20 cricket the most exciting format of the game and, the beginning of this league marks the recurrence of fun-filled T20 nights. Star Sports is committed to continue building this league which features T20 champion teams from across the globe, into a premium property. It would target to make this league a huge success by making it grand through a marketing blitz and production innovations. These are bound to increase the excitement of the league.”

Kick-starting on 13 September, CLT20 2014 will culminate on 4 October. The tournament will see participation of Mumbai Indians (India), Chennai Super Kings (India), Kolkata Knight Riders (India), Kings XI Punjab (India), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Hobart Hurricanes (Australia), Sunfoil Dolphins (South Africa), Cape Cobras (South Africa), Lahore Lions (Pakistan), Northern Districts Cricket (New Zealand) and Southern Express (Sri Lanka).