21 Nov 2017
Live Post
Build 'Masjid-e-Aman' in Lucknow's Hussainabad: Shia Board proposal to SC on Ayodhya issue
14500 Crore From Bharat-22 Exchange Traded Fund
SC rejects plea seeking deletion of alleged objectionable scenes from Padmavati film

Al Jazeera brings back ‘Correspondent’ series

MUMBAI: Al Jazeera English has brought back its award-winning ‘Correspondent’ series that showcases correspondents exploring subjects that touch on diverse obsessions.

Travelling from India to America and from Bosnia to Doha, the series will focus on obsessions like digital technology, architecture and photography, yoga, the American dream, fertility and the universal love of comedy.

It will premiere on 6 November, airing at 8 pm GMT and 4 pm in Toronto, 8 pm in London, 11 pm in Nairobi, bringing a diverse range of stories from across the globe, from the perspective of the network’s journalists.

The premiere episode ‘My Digital Addiction’ will showcase Al Jazeera’s Phil Lavelle looking at the modern phenomenon of digital addiction, as he also explores the wider issues and problems associated with digital addiction.

‘Metropolis’ on 13 November is a film that looks at the relationship people have with modern cities. Like many people, Richard Bentley has a fascination with architecture and uses time lapse photography to take a closer look at some very special buildings that reveal a lot about the past, present and future.

On 20 November, Bhanu Bhatnagar asks ‘Who Owns Yoga?’ and what impact the modern-day popularity of yoga has on the world’s most ancient physical and spiritual practices.

‘A Tale of Two Migrations: Chasing the American Dream’ on 27 November features the story of Adam Raney’s family and how the US immigration policy after the US Civil War is impacting the lives of millions.

On 4 December, the film ‘Motherhood On Ice’ will explore the personal journey of Amanda Burrell, who, at 42, may still want to have children and is exploring options, including oocyte cryopreservation—freezing her eggs. It will explore the medical and social issues surrounding the procedure as well as the personal struggle for women who try to decide whether or not to freeze their eggs.

Finally on 11 December, in ‘Bosnian Humour’, senior correspondent Jackie Rowland will try to reunite the three members of the popular comedy team The Surrealist Top Ten. The Bosnian comedy troupe split acrimoniously in the height of the war. The film reveals how the Bosnian war has left scars that may never heal.