15 Dec 2017
Live Post
Disney set to take driver’s seat in India with the addition of Star, Tata Sky
DishTV launches new offers in Tamil Nadu
Nothing is finalised on pay hike of Indian cricketers: CK Khanna
Exit polls predict BJP victory in Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh elections
Govt. clears Bill banning instant triple talaq
Congress Request Ahead of Gujarat Poll Counting Rejected By Supreme Court

29 broadcasters to take T20 World Cup to 1.8 bn viewers

MUMBAI: The television coverage of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup in Bangladesh is set to break all previous broadcast records of ICC events, with the upcoming event expected to be beamed in 223 countries in more than 20 languages.

The coverage, produced and distributed by the ICC’s global media rights partner and host broadcaster Star Sports, will have a potential reach of more than 1.8 billion viewers with live pictures shown by 29 broadcasters—both figures the highest ever for an ICC event.

Star India president sports Nitin Kukreja said, “We are excited to bring to global cricket fans the fifth edition of the ICC World Twenty20. We remain committed to ever enriching the viewing experience. This year’s edition will include innovations like LED stumps, increased focus on analytics and contextual graphics. The broadcast will go to 223 territories across the globe and will also be available on starsports.com in certain countries.”

Star Sports will telecast the matches in the Indian subcontinent including India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, the Maldives and Bhutan.

However, the sportscaster has also signed broadcast deals in Pakistan with Ten Sports, in Sri Lanka with CSN and in Bangladesh with Maasranga and Gazi TV.

Apart from private broadcasters, the event will also be aired by public broadcasters in the subcontinent which includes Doordarshan in India, PTV in Pakistan, Nepal Television in Nepal and SABC in South Africa. Private terrestrial broadcaster Lemar TV will televise the event in Afghanistan.

Star Sports has secured agreements with Fox Sports and Channel Nine in Australia, Sky Sports in the United Kingdom, OSN Sport across the Middle East and North Africa, SuperSport in sub-Saharan Africa, Astro in Malaysia, ESPN in the USA and Caribbean, Sportsnet in Canada and Sky NZ in New Zealand.

Eurosport will air the event in Europe excluding the UK, Republic of Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.

The production will be among the most sophisticated ever too, with 28 cameras, including seven ultra-motion cameras, Spidercam as well as graphics with key analytics, all of which will take the viewer right to the heart of the action.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said, “We are delighted that more than a quarter of the world’s population will have access to live coverage of the World Twenty20 2014, thanks to the ICC’s broadcast partners. In addition to the expanded broadcast footprint, an enhanced production coverage and a world-class commentary team will provide for an excellent viewing experience for fans across the world.”

All 35 matches in the men’s tournament, plus all four of the warm-up matches in Mirpur, will be covered, as well as both semi-finals and the final of the women’s event.

Besides, a host of legends of the game and experienced broadcasters will be on hand, with Ravi Shastri, Sanjay Manjrekar, Shaun Pollock, Ian Bishop, Sourav Ganguly, Shane Warne, Rameez Raja, Wasim Akram, Russel Arnold, Nick Knight, Nasser Hussain, Harsha Bhogle, Jonty Rhodes, Pommie Mbangwa, Athar Ali Khan, Danny Morrison, Alan Wilkins, Brian Murgatroyd, Isa Guha, Alison Mitchell and Melanie Jones analysing every moment of cricket action.