Live Post
Tata Group To End All Business Dealings With Cyrus Mistry's Family Firms
GJM supremo discharged in Madan Tamang murder case
Trinamool Congress leading in municipal polls
CoA tells Supreme Court: Sack BCCI's top three office-bearers
Chandigarh: 10-year-old rape survivor denied abortion by Supreme Court gives birth to a girl
Gujarat police officers Amin and Barot quit
After controversy, DD denies blacking out Tripura CM, says speech was aired
Sierra Leone mourns 100 children among dead in massive flooding

Akashvani Annual Awards results declared

MUMBAI: All India Radio (AIR) announced the results for the Akashvani Annual Awards 2013 in New Delhi today.

The prizes, for excellence in radio broadcasting in 12 categories, were declared at a well-attended function held in Akashvani Bhavan at the conclusion of a five-day screening session of entries received from AIR stations nationwide.

Speaking on the occasion, Shri F Sheheryar, Director General, AIR, said “Competition becomes inevitable and necessary when quality varies between bad and the best, ordinary and outstanding.”

Focusing on the category “Innovative Programme”, the Director General pointed out that innovation has two dimensions – innovation in content as well as innovation in production technique.

Members of the jury comprising a galaxy of experts from different fields, as well as veteran broadcasters, provided valuable insight and advice on the future roadmap for broadcasting and broadcasting awards.

In reply to a jury member’s concern vis-à-vis the “Yuvavani” category, Shri Shehryar clarified that the Yuvavani programme has not been closed down, “but its mode of broadcast has been changed from the conventional to the modern, from Medium Wave (MW) to Frequency Modulation (FM).”

The topic for the “Special Topic Documentary” category for Akashvani Annual Awards 2014 was declared on the occasion by Shri O R Niazi, Consultant, DG: AIR, as “Clean India in a Populous India”.

It may be mentioned that two new categories – Best Children’s Programme and Best Science Programme – were introduced in 2013 in the Akashvani Annual Awards instituted in 1974.