15 Dec 2017
Live Post
Nokia, IIT-Delhi to Use AI to Make Networks More Reliable
Bitcoin triggers ponzi fear: Government in a huddle, plans crackdown
Minister Faces Angry Passengers On Delayed Flight. Air India Suspends 3
SC allows Vodafone to initiate second arbitration over $2 bn tax demand
INS Kalvari submarine affirms Make in India's giant strides: MDL
Over 600 fishermen of TN, Kerala still missing after cyclone
Dalit woman rape case: Kerala court awards death sentence to labourer

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Sania Mirza honoured at NRI of the Year Award 2016

MUMBAI: TIMES NOW, India’s No. 1 news channel and ICICI Bank, India’s largest private sector bank, jointly hosted the third edition of ‘NRI of the Year Awards’ on 11th April in Mumbai. After its resounding success in the last 2 seasons, TIMES NOW and ICICI BANK organized the prestigious NRI of the Year 2016, to salute the spirit of the Global Indian.

NRI of the Year is India’s most distinctive awards recognizing the outstanding achievements of the Indian Diaspora globally. With their grit and perseverance, Non Resident Indians (NRIs) have achieved tremendous success in various fields in the countries they have chosen to adopt as their homes. Many NRIs are accomplished politicians, scientists, sportsmen, businessmen, professionals and academicians in various countries and TIMES NOW ICICI Bank ‘NRI of the Year’ awards recognize the success of these achievers.

NRI of the Year, this year was also open to any Non Resident Indian (NRI), Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Person of Indian origin (PIO) who reside in USA, Canada, UK, Middle East, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand.

The gala event was hosted by Kabir Bedi and Mandira Bedi and witnessed the presence of eminent personalities from the industry and Bollywood. This is the first event attended by the newly crowned FBB Femina Miss India 2016 – Priyadarshini Chatterjee, Sushruthi Krishna – 1st Runner Up and Pankhuri Gidwani – 2nd Runner Up.

The third edition of TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year awards powered by Global Indian International School was awarded to 17 individuals under 7 different categories– Entrepreneur, Professional, Academics, Arts & Culture, Philanthropy, Special Jury Award, Global Icon of the Year and India’s Global Icon Award. Raymond was also one of the partners for this year’s award function.

The jury, for NRI of the Year 2016, comprised of eminent leaders with the likes of Partha Sinha, Anurag Batra, Suhel Seth, P. R. Chakravarty and Shudhir Dhar.

MK Anand, MD and CEO, TIMES Network commented, “TIMES Network is the leading broadcast news network and our flagship channel TIMES NOW is the leader in English News space. Non Resident Indians are a very important target group for our international business. As a premium network, we cater to premium English audiences in India and around the world. It requires a kind of courage for these NRIs that goes beyond the ordinary and this spirit truly needs to be acknowledged and awarded. I congratulate all the winners on getting this recognition and honour. ”

On this occasion Ms. Chanda Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI Bank said, “Congratulations to all the winners of the Times Now ICICI Bank NRI of the Year awards. It is indeed a pleasure to witness the phenomenal achievements of NRIs around the world. We at ICICI Bank are proud to celebrate and recognize the achievements of the NRI community.”

Mr. Vijay Chandok, President, ICICI Bank Limited, said, “ICICI Bank has always offered the best-in-class products and services to suit NRI needs. These awards give us the opportunity to honour members of the NRI community who personify the same approach to being leaders in their fields.”

Naveen Chandra, Head- International Business, TIMES Network shared, “The NRI of the Year awards is the most distinctive awards for Indians globally and we have received an overwhelming 25,000 registrations online and the multiple Jury rounds have ensured that the winners are of high quality. Among the winners this year are accomplished Neurologists, Oncologists CEOs of global businesses and a former white house intern, and some very rich and accomplished Indians. We hope to take this further into more markets and reach out and cover more Indian Diaspora over the years ahead.”

Atul Temurnikar, Executive Chairman and CEO Global Schools Foundation, Singapore added, ” India is the world’s third largest exporter of skilled manpower, and the Indian Diaspora – comprising NRIs and PIOs – have been a source of great strength to over 140 countries where they are settled. As one of world’s premium and award-winning K12 schools serving over 45 diverse nationalities, Global Schools Foundation nurtures global, future-ready citizens. The Foundation is a proud co-founder of the ‘NRI of the Year’ Awards with TIMES NOW, to recognise and celebrate the outstanding contributions of the Diaspora across the globe.”


List of Winners 2015
Categories Name of the Winner Country
India’s Global Icon Sania Mirza Global
Special Jury Award Nikesh Arora Global
Global Indian of the Year Aishwarya Rai Bachchan Global
Academics Ramapriyan Srivatsan Singapore
Prof. Ahmad Umar Saudi Arabia
Prof. Dr. Sanjay Gandhi United Kingdom
Varun Gupta United States
Professional Amit Shah Singapore
Mohit Malhotra United Arab Emirates
Josvaraja John Christopher United Kingdom
Riju Agarwal United States
Philanthropy Jabir Puthiya Oman
Art & Culture Sonia Nair Australia
Entrepreneur Dhruv Saxena Australia
Joji Mathew United Arab Emirates
Saravana Kumar United Kingdom
Virendra Chopra United States