21 Nov 2017
Live Post
Build 'Masjid-e-Aman' in Lucknow's Hussainabad: Shia Board proposal to SC on Ayodhya issue
14500 Crore From Bharat-22 Exchange Traded Fund
SC rejects plea seeking deletion of alleged objectionable scenes from Padmavati film

Ted Turner honoured with Lifetime Achievement award at Sports Emmy Awards

MUMBAI: American media mogul and founder of CNN and Turner Broadcasting Network Ted Turner has been honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award at the 35th annual Sports Emmy Awards ceremony held yesterday at the Lincoln Center in New York.

National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences chairman Malachy Wienges spoke about Turner, “The world of sports and news television has been forever changed by the vision of this one man.”

Turner has a long list of achievements which includes his on-going philanthropy at the Turner Foundation Inc. It was his early efforts in cable television that contributed the most to this award.

In 1976, Turner purchased the Atlanta Braves baseball team and refashioned Atlanta station WJRJ Channel 17 into the TBS Superstation on cable, which carried Braves games coast to coast. In 1977, he purchased the Atlanta Hawks basketball team.

In 1986, he founded the Goodwill Games, as an attempted rival of the Olympics and covered the events on Turner Broadcasting System. The Games ended after the 2001 edition in Australia.

Apart from that, he has also founded the pro wrestling organisation World Championship Wrestling (WCW), which was eventually purchased by rival World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) in 2001.

NBC Sports Group won six awards while Fox, HBO Sports and MLB Network took home five awards each. The awards ceremony honoured sports programmes from 2013.

NBC took home the Outstanding Live Sports Series award for its flagship sports series, Sunday Night Football.

Broadcasting legend Bob Costas bagged the Outstanding Sports Personality award for the sixth year in a row.

Among NBC’s other award winners were Mike Emrick for Play-by-play Personality, Cris Collinsworth for Sports Event Analyst and Michele Tafoya for Sports Reporter.

Fox, on the other hand, won Outstanding Live Sports Special for the 2013 World Series and Outstanding Playoff Coverage for the 2013 American League Championship Series. It also won the awards for Outstanding Studio Show Daily for ‘Inside the NBA on TNT: Playoffs’.

The awards were presented by sports figures and broadcasting personalities such as Michael Strahan, Michael Irvin, Hannah Storm and Julius Erving.