15 Dec 2017
Live Post
Nokia, IIT-Delhi to Use AI to Make Networks More Reliable
Bitcoin triggers ponzi fear: Government in a huddle, plans crackdown
Minister Faces Angry Passengers On Delayed Flight. Air India Suspends 3
SC allows Vodafone to initiate second arbitration over $2 bn tax demand
INS Kalvari submarine affirms Make in India's giant strides: MDL
Over 600 fishermen of TN, Kerala still missing after cyclone
Dalit woman rape case: Kerala court awards death sentence to labourer

Star India’s Uday Shankar wins EY’s ‘Entrepreneurial CEO’ award, lauds promoter’s ‘risk-taking genes’

MUMBAI: Star India, chairman and CEO, Uday Shankar has won the ‘Entrepreneurial CEO’ award at the 2016 edition of EY Entrepreneur of the Year India (EOY) awards. The awards ceremony took place on 24 February in New Delhi.

Accepting the award, Shankar stated, “Lucky to work for an entrepreneurial company where the promoter’s genes are about taking risks. The conviction comes from the society, the world and the country you live in.”

The awards were presented by MoS (independent) for power, coal, new and renewable energy and mines Piyush Goyal, and MoS (independent) for commerce and industry Nirmala Sitharaman, who were the guests of honour. The awards were presented across nine categories in the presence of over 400 guests including eminent business leaders.

Uday-Shankar01Vivek Chaand Sehgal of the Motherson Sumi Systems Ltd (MSSL), the flagship company of Samvardhana Motherson Group (SMG), was declared the EY Entrepreneur of the Year India. Samvardhana Motherson Group has presence in more than 26 countries across six continents and is among the top auto component suppliers across the globe.

Sehgal will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year (WEOY) Award in Monte Carlo, to be held from 7 to 11 June 2017.

Nandan Nilekani was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), the Aadhaar initiative.

EY India chairman Rajiv Memani said, “Each of our winners this year has taken forward their unique ideas with unwavering determination in the face of adversity. They have taken bold risks and transformed into leading players in their respective industries. Even in a challenging and disruptive business environment, these visionary entrepreneurs are continuously creating value, generating jobs and contributing to building a better working world.”

A distinguished nine-member jury, led by Sun Pharmaceuticals MD Dilip Shanghvi, selected the winners. Other jury members included Tata Communications chairman Subodh Bhargava; Info Edge (India) executive vice-chairman Sanjeev Bikhchandani; Max Financial Services chairman Naina Lal Kidwai; Kotak Mahindra Bank MD Uday Kotak; JP Morgan Chase South Asia and India CEO Kalpana Morparia; Wipro chief strategy officer Rishad Premji; Multiples Alternate Asset Management MD and CEO Renuka Ramnath; and Murugappa Group executive chairman A Vellayan.

EOY is the only business award to be based on self-nomination and it is now in its 18th year in India.

EOY India programme leader and partner Farokh Balsara added, “Each of the winners this year, with their disruptive ideas and incredible innovation, has demonstrated perseverance and foresight to scale their businesses. Their stories of courage and ambition are truly inspiring and define the India of today and tomorrow. We, at EY, recognise and applaud the entrepreneurial spirit and exceptional achievements of all the winners.”

EOY India 2016 winners:

EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2016: Vivek Chaand Sehgal
Chairman, Motherson Sumi Systems Limited

Lifetime Achievement: Nandan Nilekani
Co-founder, Infosys, and former chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India (Aadhar card)

Category winners:

Business Transformation: Dr Abhay Firodia
Chairman, Force Motors

Consumer Products & Retail: Chandubhai Virani
Whole time director, Balaji Wafers

Entrepreneurial CEO: Uday Shankar
Chairman and CEO, Star India

Financial Services: Vishwavir Ahuja
MD and CEO, RBL Bank

Life Sciences & Healthcare: Samprada Singh and Basudeo Narain Singh
Chairman Emeritus, and Executive Chairman, Alkem Laboratories

Manufacturing: Hari Mohan Bangur
MD, Shree Cement

Real Estate & Infrastructure: Vikas Oberoi
CMD, Oberoi Realty

Services: R Dinesh
MD, TVS Logistics Services

Start-up: Darshan Patel

CMD, Vini Cosmetics