Live Post
JD(U) under Nitish decides to become part of NDA, denies split in party
Customs arrests Air India cabin crew for smuggling ganja
Government, RBI in talks to shore up PSU bank capital
Bihar flood toll mounts to 153, 17 districts affected
IndiGo cancels 84 flights over engine issues
Trai gets tough on call drops; slaps penalty of upto Rs 10 lakh
Yogi Adityanath targets 'Yuvraj' Rahul Gandhi: 'Will not permit Gorakhpur to become picnic spot'
Shivraj to lead BJP in 2018 election: Amit Shah

Rising Pune Supergiants is name of Sanjiv Goenka’s IPL team, Dhoni is captain

MUMBAI: The Pune IPL team, owned by industrialist Sanjiv Goenka, will be called Rising Pune Supergiants and Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named as its captain for the 2016 season.

Raghu Iyer, who was in charge of the suspended Rajasthan Royals franchise, will join as the CEO of the sports vertical of the group. Goenka also owns the Indian Super League (ISL) football franchise Atletico de Kolkata along with former India cricket captain Sourav Ganguly, Harshavardhan Neotia and Utsav Parekh.

Ganguly will have no role in the IPL team, Goenka clarified.

Dhoni will have support from the other players like Aussie skipper Steve Smith, South African skipper Faf du Plessis, Ajinkya Rahane and R Ashwin.

Like Goenka’s corporate logo, the team’s logo has purple, gold and orange colours.

Unveiling the team logo, Goenka said: “I welcome Dhoni as the captain of Rising Pune Supergiants for the 2016 season. He has always been a phenomenal leader for teams that he has represented including the Indian side. His track record in both domestic and International arenas have been remarkable. I firmly believe he will lead our team extremely well on and off the field.”

After the suspension of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) for two years by the RM Lodha committee on charges of spot fixing, Goenka’s New Rising Group and Delhi-based mobile phone manufacturer Intex Technologies have bagged the rights to Pune and Rajkot teams respectively. The two new teams will replace CSK and Rajasthan Royals (RR).