22 Sep 2017
Live Post
Hathway’s cable TV and broadband capex to be Rs 270 cr in FY18
Cut in interconnect charge may boost RIL's EPS by 8%
Package soon to boost economy; no cuts in fuel rates: Arun Jaitley
Global child bride racket busted in Hyderabad, 20 arrested
Tracked so far: Rs 75 crore in Dera bank accounts
Violence in Tripura: Journalist hacked to death, sec 144 imposed

‘Queen’ reigns at Filmfare with 6 wins

MUMBAI: Kangana Ranaut-starrer ‘Queen’ ruled the 60th Filmfare awards with a total of six wins across the popular and technical categories. Closely following ‘Queen’ was the Shahid Kapoor film ‘Haider’ which bagged five awards.

Ranaut and Kapoor also picked up the Best Actor Female and Best Actor Male awards for their respective films.

Other awards picked up by ‘Queen’ were Best Film, Best Director (Vikas Bahl), Best Background Score (Amit Trivedi), Best Cinematography (Bobby Singh and Siddharth Diwan) and Best Editing (Abhijit Kokate and Anurag Kashyap).

‘Haider’ bagged awards for Best Actor in a Supporting Role Male (Kay Kay Menon), Best Actor in a Supporting Role Female (Tabu), Best Production Design (Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray), and Best Costume (Dolly Ahluwalia).

The Best Story award went to Rajat Kapoor for ‘Ankhon Dekhi’, which also won the Best Film (Critics).

Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy picked up the Best Music Director award for ‘2 States’, while Ankit Tiwari won the Best Playback Male award for ‘Galiyaan’ from ‘Ek Villain’; and Kanika Kapoor won the Best Playback Female award for ‘Babydoll’ from ‘Ragini MMS 2’.

Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi won for ‘PK’ in the Best Screenplay and Best Dialogue categories, which were the only wins for the Aamir Khan starrer.

The Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed on veteran actress Kamini Kaushal for her outstanding contribution to Indian cinema.

The evening saw performances by Salman Khan, Arjun Kapoor, Shraddha Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, Ranbir Kapoor and Alia Bhatt, among others. Held at Yash Raj Studios, the ceremony was hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar and stand-up comedian Kapil Sharma.