19 Oct 2017
Live Post
Fashion TV working on India linear, SVOD launch by 2018-end
Baggage tow tractor rams into Air India plane at IGI
Reliance says Jio to turn profitable 'shortly'
Presence of outsider in Talwars' flat cannot be ruled out: HC on Aarushi case
Gauri Lankesh murder: Suspects' sketches released but SIT has nothing else

Prannoy Roy to receive RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement

MUMBAI: The fifth edition of the RedInk Awards, organised by the Mumbai Press Club, will honour NDTV Group’s executive co-chairman Dr Prannoy Roy with the 2015 RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement for Excellence in Journalism.

The honour will be conferred on Roy at a ceremony on 30 April at the Jamshed Bhaba Auditorium, NCPA. The award is meant to acknowledge his consistent and pioneering contribution to news television in India and his service to journalism.

The RedInk Award for Journalist of the Year, instituted for the first time, will be given to NDTV’s Sreenivasan Jain for his consistent investigative work in his series ‘Truth versus Hype’ and other programmes.

Prannoy RoyDr Roy, along with his wife Radhika Roy, was the first to set up a television news production company called New Delhi Television (now NDTV) in 1988. In later years, he made a mark for his incisive and pioneering coverage of election news and changed the way people consumed TV news with programmes like ‘The News Tonight’ and ‘The World This Week’.

After years of producing the news for Star News, Roy launched his own broadcasting network with NDTV 24X7, NDTV India, and other channels in 2003.

Meanwhile, Times Now editor-in-chief Arnab Goswami has been selected as the ‘Impact Editor of the Year’ for his ability to capture eyeballs and expand audience reach with his ‘News Hour’ show.

Scroll.in will be awarded the ‘News Start-up of the Year’ for scaling up its influence rapidly as an alternative source of news and features.

Judging for the RedInk Awards, which includes as many as 10 categories, has just been completed recently. Twenty-four journalists who have produced outstanding and impactful stories in calendar 2014 will also receive awards at the ceremony.

The jury panel saw over 800 entries in the print/online category and nearly 250 stories from television journalists. Each of the categories including politics, crime, environment, sports, human rights and more had a dedicated juryDr Prannoy Roy receives 2015 RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement for Excellence in Journalism from Star India CEO Mr Uday Shankar  Ra (2) with domain knowledge to judge the entries. A special curator was also assigned to sift the large number of entries in each section and guide the judges.

The panel comprised Marico MD and chairman Harsh Mariwala for the Business category; Biocon head Dr Kiran Shaw Mazumdar for the Health & Wellness category; former Mumbai Police Commissioner MN Singh and Justice Kode for the Crime category; Viacom18 CEO Sudanshu Vats for the Entertainment & Lifestyle category; and Publicis Worldwide director, chief creative officer South Asia Bobby Pawar for the Big Picture stories.

Star India is the presenting partner for the awards. Other award partners include Aditya Birla Group, Indiabulls Housing, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals, Zee Entertainment, Eros International, SevenHills Hospitals, Lunkad Investment and JSW Steel.