25 Nov 2017
Live Post
Delhi: Five schoolboys arrested for stabbing 17-year-old to death aboard moving bus
HT Media’s digital business under new entity to get listed on stock exchange
Kerala nurse assaulted on vaccination drive
Amazon founder Jeff Bezos' net worth is now over $100-bn
Ryan schoolboy murder: Class 11 student to be defended by Rajesh-Nupur Talwars' lawyer
Kashmir militants kill Territorial Army jawan

Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas is the new ICC prez

MUMBAI: Former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas assumed the role of the ICC president on day three of the ICC Annual Conference week in Barbados.

The post of president is a ceremonial one as the real authority vests with the chairman under the new ICC structure.

Abbas replaces Bangladesh’s A.H.M. Mustafa Kamal who had resigned after being denied the opportunity to give away the trophy to the champions in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. He was also upset over the “controversial” umpiring during the Bangladesh-India quarterfinal match at Melbourne.

Zaheer began his one-year term and thanked the ICC board and the full council for confirming his nomination. He said: “I feel truly honoured and humbled to be appointed as the President of the governing body of our great game.

“This is the sport which has given us friendship, respect, recognition and an opportunity to serve our countries in different capacities. Personally speaking, it has given me more than I can ever possibly repay.

“I am thankful to all of you for the support and confidence placed in me by confirming my nomination. I am also grateful to the PCB for proposing my candidacy as the ICC President. I assure you all that I will stand shoulder to shoulder with all the ICC Members as we continue to strive to inspire more and more people to fall in love with the game we cherish.”

ICC Chairman N. Srinivasan congratulated Zaheer on his appointment, when he said: “Zaheer’s outstanding career as a stylish right-handed batsman is reflected in his remarkable record with 108 first-class hundreds and more than 7,500 international runs.

“Zaheer is clearly an iconic cricketer who always played the game with skill, flair and in the true spirit. He is a worthy ambassador of our great game.”

Zaheer, 67, played 78 Tests and 62 ODIs from 1969 to 1985 in which he scored 5,062 and 2,572 runs, respectively. He also played in the 1975, 1979 and 1983 ICC Cricket World Cups and captained Pakistan in 14 Tests and 13 ODIs. With 108 centuries, Zaheer is the only Asian batsman to score a century of first-class centuries as he finished his 22-year career with 34,843 runs.

Zaheer was also an ICC match referee in the 1993 series between Sri Lanka and the West Indies in Sri Lanka.

The ICC Council also approved the admission of the Serbia Cricket Federation (SCF) as the 58th affiliate member of the ICC.

Regrettably, the ICC Council agreed to suspend the affiliate memberships of Morocco and Turkey, while Brunei was removed as an affiliate member.

The ICC has 105 members.
The ICC President’s role will be rotated in the following order:
– CSA (2016-17)
– ZC (2017-18)
– WICB (2018-19)
– ECB (2019-20)
– Associate/Affiliate Members (2020-21)
– Associate/Affiliate Members (2021-22)
– BCCI (2022-23)
– SLC (2023-24)
– CA (2024-25)
– NZC (2025-26)
– BCB (2026-27)