24 Sep 2017
Live Post
India-focused OTT production entity Golden Karavan launched
Woman alleges gang rape by two men in SUV
Film producer Karim Morani surrenders in rape case
Ryan school murder case: CBI team reaches school, starts probe
Karti closed many foreign accounts, shifted money: CBI
Pakistan shells border posts, hamlets in J&K; BSF jawans among 7 injured
Sushma Swaraj raises issue of terrorism, H1-B with US Secretary of State

Bids invited for new Indian Super League teams

MUMBAI:  The Football Sports Development Ltd (FSDL), organisers of the Indian Super League (ISL), has invited bids from interested parties for acquiring franchises from a pool of 10 cities.

The organisers will award one to three new franchises the right to participate in the ISL. Winning franchises will participate in the ISL from its fourth edition to be staged in year 2017–18.

The cities on offer are Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Cuttack, Durgapur, Hyderabad, Jamshedpur, Kolkata, Ranchi, Siliguri and Thiruvananthapuram.

The organisers clarified that in case of Kolkata the winning bidder will have to hold its home games outside Kolkata for the next two consecutive ISL 2017/2018 and 2018/2019 seasons.

FSDL’s ‘Invitation To Bid’ (ITB) document will be available on working days from 12 to 24 May. The bid documents must be submitted on 25 May.

All bidding parties will need to fulfil the eligibility criteria and other requirements specified in the ITB including but not limited to summary of plans to operate their team in the league, including the business model and plan to develop the sport at the grassroots level.

Currently, the ISL has eight teams, namely Atletico de Kolkata, Chennaiyin FC, Delhi Dynamos FC, FC Goa, FC Pune City, Kerala Blasters FC, NorthEast United FC and Mumbai City FC.

The ISL is a city-based football league established in India in 2014 under the sanction of the All India Football Federation (AIFF). IMG Reliance, an equal JV between IMG and Reliance Industries, has formed a JV with Star India to organise the league.