12 Dec 2017
Live Post
Star Gold Select HD partners select DTH ops to showcase ‘Mughal-E-Azam’ in colour, B&W
ALTBalaji offers subtitles for its original shows in three regional languages
Unitech Moves Supreme Court Against Government Taking Over
Court sends accused to police custody for two days in actress case
UP shocker: 15-year-old cancer survivor gang-raped, then raped by passerby too

‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ clinches six trophies at Filmfare

MUMBAI: Romping home in six different categories, ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’, the Farhan Akhtar-starrer biopic on Milkha Singh, swept the 59th Idea Filmfare Awards held last evening.

‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ picked up awards for Best Film, Best Lyrics (for ‘Zinda’ awarded to Prasoon Joshi), Best Production Design (awarded to Acropolis Design) and Best Costume (Dolly Ahluwalia).

Akhtar bagged the Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male) trophy and Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra was adjudged Best Director for the film.

The star-studded extravaganza held at the Yash Raj Films studio also saw Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela’ win big. Deepika Padukone won the Best Actor (Female) trophy while veteran Supriya Pathak was honoured for Best Supporting Role (Female). The film also bagged the Best Choreographer award, which went to Samir and Arsh Tanna for ‘Lahu Muh Lag Gaya’.

‘Lunchbox’ too picked up three awards—Critics Award for Best Film, Best Debut Director (Ritesh Batra) and Best Actor in a Supporting Role Male (Nawazuddin Siddiqui).

In the music category, ‘Aashiqui 2’ picked up the Best Music Award (Jeet Ganguly, Mithoon and Ankit Tiwari), Siddharth Madhavan won the RD Burman Award for Upcoming New Music Talent, Arijit Singh picked up the Best Singer Male awards for ‘Tum Hi Ho’ from ‘Aashiqui 2’, Monali Thakur bagged the Best Singer Female accolade for ‘Sawaar Loon’ from ‘Lootera’ and Hitesh Sonik got the Best Background Score award for ‘Kai Po Che’.

Veteran actress Tanuja was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award for contribution to Indian cinema.

The ceremony was hosted by Ranbir Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra. The awards night also saw many performances by Bollywood stars including Ranveer Singh, Priyanka Chopra and Shahid Kapoor among others.

The 59th Idea Filmfare Awards will be aired on Sony Entertainment Television on 26 January at 8 pm.