Live Post
Infosys jumps 3% on buzz of Nandan Nilekani's return
Gorakhpur tragedy: Top UP bureaucrat removed
Karti Chidambaram appears before the CBI in the corruption case
Kaifiyat Express derails in Auraiya district of UP, 74 injured
Bypoll: Voting underway in Panaji and Valpoi Assembly seats
Dhinakarans effigy burnt in Puducherry

‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ clinches majority of awards in popular category at IIFA ’14

MUMBAI: After bagging nine trophies in the technical category of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards earlier this year, ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ has once again clinched the maximum number of awards in the popular category of the awards ceremony held in Tampa Bay, US.

The Milkha Singh biopic won five awards, namely Best Picture Award, Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male) Award for Farhan Akhtar, Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female) Award for Divya Dutta, Best Story Award for Prasoon Joshi and Best Direction Award for Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra.

Deepika Padukone won Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female) Award for ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, and also took home the Best Entertainer of the Year Award.

Southern star Dhanush bagged the Best Debutant Award for ‘Raanjhanaa’, Arshad Warsi picked up the Best Performance in a Comic Role Award for ‘Jolly LLB’ and Rishi Kapoor won the Best Performance in a Negative Role Award for ‘D Day’.

In the music category, ‘Aashiqui 2’ ruled the roost with Mithoon winning the Best Lyric Writer Award for ‘Tum Hi Ho’, Arijit Singh winning the Best Male Playback Singer Award for ‘Tum Hi Ho’ and Shreya Ghoshal winning the Best Female Playback Singer Award for the song ‘Sun Raha Hai Na Tu’ from the film.

The Lifetime Achievement Award 2014 was bestowed upon Shatrughan Sinha for his contribution to the Indian film industry. He received the award from his daughter and actress Sonakshi Sinha.

Hollywood biggies like John Travolta and Kevin Spacey also graced the event and shook a leg with the Bollywood actors adding to the glitz of the show.

Kevin Spacey donned a lungi on stage and danced to the beats of the popular ‘Lungi Dance’ track along with Deepika Padukone.

Among the performers at the ceremony were Farhan Akhtar, Mika Singh, Sonakshi Sinha, Priyanka Chopra, Shahid kapoor, Hrithik Roshan, Anil Kapoor and more.

The ceremony was hosted by Shahid Kapoor and Farhan Akhtar.