18 Dec 2017
Live Post
Dish TV-Videocon d2h merger deal concludes as MIB grants approval
Airtel Blocked From Aadhaar Platform After Being Accused Of Misusing Data
Railways mulling installation of CCTV cameras inside trains
Interpol denies India's request for red corner notice against Zakir Naik, cites lack of evidence as reason
The Rebooting Of Rahul Gandhi, 49th Congress President

Anup Jalota, Ashok Tandon among new Prasar Bharti board part-timers

MUMBAI: Public broadcaster Prasar Bharati will soon fill up the four vacant positions of part-time members as a three-member committee headed by Vice President Hamid Ansari has cleared the names out of over 12 names.

The four selected personnel are journalist and former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s media advisor Ashok Tandon, Bhajan singer Anup Jalota, former Britannia Industries MD and CEO Sunil Alagh, and Niti Digital CEO Shashi Shekhar.

Earlier, names of Bollywood actress Kajol, senior journalist Minhaz Merchant, former editor of RSS mouthpiece ‘Organiser’ Seshadri Chari, actor Vikram Gokhale, academician Vartika Nanda, film writer Prakash Kapadia, and Kannada actor Avinash were floating for the job.

Prasar Bharati board comprises a chairman (A Surya Prakash), a chief executive officer (Jawhar Sircar), a member (finance) (Rajeev Singh), a member (personnel) (Suresh Chandra Panda), a representative of the I&B ministry (Addl Secretary JS Mathur), DG of All India Radio (F Sheheryar) and DG of Doordarshan (C Lalrosanga) as ex-officio members and six part-time members. At present, IIM Ahmedabad director SK Barua and Muzaffar Ali are two part-time members.

The three-member panel, which cleared the names, also comprises Press Council of India (PCI) chairman Justice (Retd) CK Prasad and I&B Ministry secretary Sunil Arora.

Also read: