Live Post
Delhi: Worker dies after inhaling toxic gases while cleaning sewer inside hospital premises
Bihar floods: Toll rises to 253, more than a crore people are now homeless
Key accused in Rs 700-crore Bihar fund transfer scam dies in Bhagalpur hospital
War won't give China any clear gain, only cause casualties, assesses govt
Saudi carrier says Qatar has not approved hajj flights
Three Kashmiri youth arrested for disrespecting National Anthem
2008 Malegaon Blast Case: Supreme Court Verdict On Lt Col Purohit's Bail Today

Akshay Kumar named best actor, ‘Kasaav’ best film at National Film Awards

MUMBAI: The 64th National Film Awards, the winners of which were announced on Friday, had some cool surprise for Akshay Kumar. The 49-year-old Bollywood star won the best actor award for his portrayal of a patriotic naval officer in ‘Rustom’.

Meanwhile, Marathi film ‘Kasaav’, which deals with depression, was declared the best feature film.

Sonam Kapoor-starrer ‘Neerja’ was named the best Hindi film. Directed by Ram Madhvani, ‘Neerja’ dramatises the 1986 hijacking incident during which flight attendant Neerja Bhanot was killed by terrorists while saving passengers.

Akshay-KumarAmitabh Bachchan-starrer ‘Pink’, a female-centric courtroom drama, won the award for best film on social issues.

Talking about his win, Akshay Kumar said on Twitter, “Thank you is a very small word right now but I don’t know how else to express how I am feeling right now… ‘Rustom’ was a very special role to play. Being able to wear the uniform of Indian Navy itself is a huge honour, even if it’s just for a role.”

The jury, headed by film-maker Priyadarshan, named Surabhi CM as the best actress for her role in the Malayalam film ‘Minnaminungu: The Firefly’.

In the children’s films category, ‘Dhanak’ won the top honour, while Telugu movie ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’ was declared the most popular film providing wholesome entertainment.

Marathi cinema won big at the awards, with ‘Kasaav’, directed by Sumitra Bhave and Sunil Sukthankar, winning the top award.

“‘Kasaav’ got the best film award which is a great thing, but another point of happiness is that the film deals with the theme of depression. The award definitely gives a boost to Marathi cinema. It is a proud moment for us,” PTI quoted Sukthankar as saying.

Rajesh Mapuskar won the best director award for his film ‘Ventilator’, which was produced by actress Priyanka Chopra.

‘Ventilator’ also won the best editing and best final mixed track awards. The award for the best adapted screenplay went to ‘Dashakriya’, which also got the best Marathi film honour.

Kashmiri actress Zaira Wasim was adjudged the best supporting actress for her performance as a young Geeta Phogat in Aamir Khan’s ‘Dangal’.

Ajay Devgn’s ‘Shivaay’ won the award for the best special effects.

Assamese film ‘Dikchow Banat Palaax’ won the Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on national integration.

The National Film Awards will be presented by the President of India on 3 May.