15 Dec 2017
Live Post
Nokia, IIT-Delhi to Use AI to Make Networks More Reliable
Bitcoin triggers ponzi fear: Government in a huddle, plans crackdown
Minister Faces Angry Passengers On Delayed Flight. Air India Suspends 3
SC allows Vodafone to initiate second arbitration over $2 bn tax demand
INS Kalvari submarine affirms Make in India's giant strides: MDL
Over 600 fishermen of TN, Kerala still missing after cyclone
Dalit woman rape case: Kerala court awards death sentence to labourer

9th Renault Star Guild Awards introduce K.A. Abbas Honour and Guild Hall of Fame

MUMBAI: The ninth edition of the Renault Star Guild Awards is in the offing to felicitate the best talent in Indian cinema. The awards this year have introduced a special category called the ‘K.A. Abbas Honour for Cinema with Social Sensitivity’ to commemorate the 100th birth anniversary of the late film-maker Khwaja Ahmed Abbas.

Amitabh Bachchan will inaugurate and give away the first K.A. Abbas Honour on the night of the awards. K.A. Abbas is credited for having introduced Bachchan as an actor in Indian films. The legendary film-maker co-wrote screenplays for Raj Kapoor’s classics such as ‘Awara’, ‘Shree 420’ and ‘Bobby’, and also directed films like ‘Saat Hindustani’ and ‘Aaj Aur Kal’.

The team also announced the Guild Hall of Fame to celebrate the box-office success annually. 2013 is stated to be a year for big-ticket films that saw the footfalls of a record number of cine-goers with box-office sales spilling over Rs. 500 crore.

Recognising this, the Hall of Fame will include major film titles from the year gone by. The club will be launched by Kareena Kapoor at the award ceremony on 16 January, in Mumbai.

Film & Television Producers Guild of India president Mukesh Bhatt said, “2013 has seen some great work in film and television across genres where a historic masterpiece like ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ and crowd-pullers like ‘Chennai Express’ and ‘Dhoom 3’ have both seen great box-office success. It is a sign of the evolution of Indian audiences as well as a symbol of the diversity of the Indian film industry and for this reason we have introduced the Guild Hall of Fame and the K.A. Abbas Honour for Cinema with Social Sensitivity.”

The nominations for this year include Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s epic drama ‘Goliyon Ki Raasleela: Ram Leela’ and Ayan Mukherji’s fresh youth romance ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, along with unconventional releases like ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ and ‘The Lunchbox’.

The Best Actress in the Leading Role category features Deepika Padukone dominating with three nominations for ‘Chennai Express’, ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela: Ram Leela’ and ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, along with Sonakshi Sinha (‘Lootera’), Nimrat Kaur (‘The Lunchbox’) and Parineeti Chopra (‘Shuddh Desi Romance’).

Best Actor in the Leading Role category sees Farhan Akhtar (‘Bhaag Mikha Bhaag’), Ranbir Kapoor (‘Yeh Jawani Hai Dewaani’), Ranveer Singh (‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela: Ram Leela’), Irrfan Khan (‘The Lunchbox’), Rajkummar Rao (‘Shahid’) and Sushant Singh Rajput (‘Kai Po Che’) battle it out for the trophy.

Nominated in the Best Director category are Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra (‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’), Ritesh Batra (‘The Lunchbox’), Sanjay Leela Bhansali (‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela: Ram Leela’), Ayan Mukherji (‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’), Abhishek Kapoor (‘Kai Po Che’) and Rohit Shetty (‘Chennai Express’).

The 9th Renault Star Guild Awards is presented by Renault and Star TV, and produced by Wizcraft International Entertainment Ltd. The associate sponsors for the awards are Gionee Smart Phone, Reliance 3G and the Videocon Group, while WeChat is the official communications partner for the event.