Live Post
Infosys MD & CEO Vishal Sikka resigns, Pravin Rao interim chief
Rescue Hyderabad minor from Omani sheikh: Maneka Gandhi to Sushma Swaraj
After SBI, now HDFC Bank and Yes Bank cut interest rate on savings
Election Commissioner speaks out: 'Winning at all cost, without ethics, is new normal in politics'
Karti Chidambaram says will appear before CBI on August 23, seeks protection
USS Fitzgerald captain during collision that killed 7 to lose command

26 players drafted on Day 1 of ISL’s central domestic player draft

MUMBAI: The first day of the central domestic player draft of the Hero Indian Super League (ISL) witnessed the clubs going all out for the big names of Indian football.

Overall, 26 players who have donned Team India jersey in the last three years were drafted in by the clubs on Day 1.

The draft proceedings saw the participating six club officials engage in a lot of permutations and discussions before making the final selection. It also spoke volumes about the interest and days of planning the clubs had done ahead of the draft and the interest the new concept in Indian football is generating.

National team midfielder Lenny Rodrigues was the first to be drafted in by Team Pune while his national team partner in the midfield, ‘double cylinder’ Mehtab Hussain will travel down south to play for Kochi Blasters FC in the inaugural edition of the Hero ISL. This will be the first time both Lenny and Mehtab would be seen displaying their trade for clubs outside their hometowns, Goa and Kolkata respectively.

Besides, ‘Spiderman’ Subrata Paul was drafted in by Team Mumbai while Francis Fernandes will travel North to play for Delhi Dynamos FC. National team veteran Gouramangi Singh was drafted in by Team Bengaluru who also picked up 2013 AIFF Young Player of the Year, striker Jeje Lalpekhlua.

Seven rounds of the central draft were held at the plush Palladium Hotel in Mumbai with the final seven rounds due on 23 July.

At the end of the seven rounds of the first day of draft, the lists of the drafted players by the eight Hero ISL clubs are as follows:

Team Pune: Lenny Rodrigues, Dharmaraj Ravanan, Ashutosh Mehta, Joaquim Abranches, Pritam Kotal, Manish Maithani, Israil Gurung

Team Mumbai: Subrata Paul, Lalrindika Ralte, Syed Rahim Nabi, Raju Gaikwad, Subash Singh, Ram Malik, Deepak Mondal

Kerala Blasters FC: Mehtab Hussain, Sandesh Jhingan, Ishfaq Ahmed, Gurwinder Singh, Nirmal Chettri, Sushant Matthew, Godwin Franco

Team Bengaluru: Harmanjot Khabra, Dhanachandra Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Gouramangi Singh, Shilton Paul, Denson Devadas, Khelemba Meitei

Atletico de Kolkata: Cavin Lobo, Arnab Mondal, Denzil Franco, Rakesh Masih, Mohammed Rafique, Mohammed Rafi, Biswajit Saha

Delhi Dynamos FC: Francis Fernandes, Robert Lalthamuana, Naoba Singh, Shylo Malswamtluanga, Shouvik Ghosh, Shouvik Chakraborty, Munmun Lugun

Team Goa: Laxmikant Kattimani, Debabrata Roy, Gabriel Fernandes, Clifford Miranda, Jewel Raja Shaikh, Alwyn George, Narayan Das

North East United FC: Kunzang Bhutia, Jibon Singh, Durga Boro, Aibor Khongjee, Zodingliana Ralte, TP Rehnesh, Boithang Haokip