MIB granted nine more MSO licences in April

MUMBAI: The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting (MIB) granted nine more multi-system operator (MSO) licences in April.

Two Odisha-based MSOs got licences while the remaining registrations were granted to MSOs from West Bengal, Karnataka, Bihar, Gujarat, New Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Andaman & Nicobar.

As on 30 April, the total registered MSOs stood at 1,384, with Arasu Cable being the only MSO with a provisional registration.

The MIB had granted 193 MSO licences on 10 March and 20 April. Tamil Nadu government-owned Arasu Cable TV Corporation received provisional registration with the condition that they would digitise their network within three months.

Besides, Arasu’s registration is subject to the MIB taking a final call on the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India’s (TRAI) recommendations on the entry of government entities in TV broadcasting.

Registered_MSOs_list_4_april_201701Click here for enlarge image

Also Read: