CNBC-TV18 succesfully hosts 12th edition of India business leader awards (ibla)

New Delhi: The CNBC-TV18 ‘India Business Leader Awards’ has always brought together the most eclectic leaders from India’s business ecosystem under one roof, and this year was no different. The most recognized awards property was back with its 12th edition to felicitate those visionaries who have led India’s glorious journey from the front, setting new standards in terms of growth, scale and market leadership. The awards aim at acknowledging individuals who have made a stellar difference in their respective business spheres, creating that much desired edge above their peers. CNBC-TV18 honored these champions at a gala celebration held on 23rd March 2017 in New Delhi.

This year, the awards ceremony was presided over by the Hon’ble Finance Minister Mr. Arun Jaitley. The show started with a beautiful performance on ‘Vande Mataram’ by Mame Khan.

Dignitaries such as Manoj Sinha, Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Rajyavardhan Rathore graced the occasion to witness the most celebrated business awards of the country.

Each year, the CNBC-TV18 India Business Leader Awards bring together the stalwarts of India Inc. along with economists, experts and key architects of India’s growth story to discuss and deliberate on relevant matters that concern the financial and business ecosystem. Some of the key takeaways from the discussions that transpired at the 12th edition of IBLA were:

Arun Jaitley- Minister of Finance and Defense

  • GST bill in parliament – next week is more likely
  • GST council meeting on 31st march – hope five regulations are approved
  • Items in 30% tax slabs will come down to 28% bracket in GST
  • Want to make sure the defense equipment is domestically manufactured not imported
  • RBI, Govt to soon announce policy decision to push for quick settlement of NPAs

Manoj Sinha- Ministry of Communications

  • State and central government should work together to achieve the goal of development
  • Mutual consensus between centre and state on GST is best example of cooperative federalism

Ashok Gajapathi Raju – Union minister of Civil Aviation Govt. Of India

  • Centre and states have a complimentary role in the Aviation Sector Central Govt.
  • Working towards improving regional connectivity; better regional connectivity in the aviation space will benefit every state

Rajyavardhan Rathore – MoS for Information and Broadcasting

  • Print medium in India is growing due to heavy rural demand would be willing to open up print to more FDI if we feel like it needs impetus
  • Expanding optioning of FM spec rum to reach more places
  1. Chandrababu Naidu– Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
  • Mobile currency is the best way to expand Digital India programme, need to reduce mobile currency costs
  • Infrastructure is crucial for industry growth; India has potential to grow in a big way
  • AP will have zero tolerance towards corruption. AP will be top investment destination in India by 2050

Manish Sisodia– Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi

  • GST council is the best reflection of a federal structure
  • Always want to work with the central govt for the betterment of Delhi

Winners that were felicitated at the event were:

  • Outstanding Company of the Year– Asian Paints
  • Most Promising Company of the Year– Amara Raja Batteries
  • State of the Year – Andhra Pradesh
  • Hall of Fame– RC Bhargava and Bimal Jalan
  • Outstanding Contribution to Brand India– Dipa Karmarkar
  • Outstanding Business Leader of the Year Award– Arundhati Bhattacharya
  • Brand of the Year– Maggi and Make Love Not Scars
  • Young Turk of the Year– Byju’s
  • Young Turk Start-up of the Year– Tonbo Imaging
  • The Disruptor– OLA cabs
  • CNBC Asia’s India Innovator Of The Year– Capital First Limited
  • CNBC Asia’s India Talent Management Award– RBL Bank Ltd
  • CNBC Asia’s Corporate Social Responsibility Award– Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited
  • CNBC Asia’s India Business Leader Of The Year– Vishal Sikka
  • Entertainment Leader of the Year: Deepika Padukone