Live Post
WhatsApp Coloured Text Status Now Rolling Out to Android and iPhone
Gorakhpur tragedy: Top UP bureaucrat removed
Karti Chidambaram appears before the CBI in the corruption case
74 injured as train derails in Auraiya
Bypoll: Voting underway in Panaji and Valpoi Assembly seats
Dhinakarans effigy burnt in Puducherry

MIB seeks details from broadcasters and MSOs on DAS III awareness campaigns

MUMBAI: The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting ( MIB) has sought details of the public awareness campaigns undertaken by broadcasters and multi-system operators (MSOs) for digital addressable system (DAS) Phase III along with documentary proof.

The ministry has asked the broadcasters and MSOs to provide these details by email at within 15 days.

With the 31 December 2015 deadline for DAS Phase III approaching fast, the ministry wants the stakeholders to come together to create awareness among the public of the impending change from analogue to digital.

To receive cable TV services in urban areas after 31 December, it is essential that MSOs carry only digitally encrypted signals while every cable subscriber will be required to have a set-top box (STB).

As per Rule 12 of the Cable Television Networks Rules 1994, “Every broadcaster, multi-system operator and cable operator shall create public awareness among, and provide information to, the subscribers in the notified areas from a period at least 30 days prior to the date such areas are notified, either through advertisements in the print and electronic media or through such other means including leaflets, printing on the reverse of the receipts, personal visits, group meetings with subscribers or consumer groups, cable service and website, containing salient features of the digital addressable cable system.”

The central government has notified phased implementation of DAS in the country as per Section 44 of Cable Television (Regulation) Networks Act 1995 and the rules framed there-under. Phases I and II of DAS came into force from 1 November 2012 and 1 April 2013 respectively, while DAS Phase IV covering rural areas will be completed by 31 December 2016.