Live Post
Infosys MD & CEO Vishal Sikka resigns, Pravin Rao interim chief
Rescue Hyderabad minor from Omani sheikh: Maneka Gandhi to Sushma Swaraj
After SBI, now HDFC Bank and Yes Bank cut interest rate on savings
Election Commissioner speaks out: 'Winning at all cost, without ethics, is new normal in politics'
Karti Chidambaram says will appear before CBI on August 23, seeks protection
USS Fitzgerald captain during collision that killed 7 to lose command

MIB issues 26 provisional licences to MSOs in July

MUMBAI: Ahead of the deadline for Phase IV of digital addressable system (DAS), the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) has issued 26 new MSO (multi-system operator) licences in July.

The total number of provisional MSO licences has, thus, climbed to 737, as on 28 July.

Radient Digitek Network is the only MSO in July to have received pan-India licence, excluding Rajasthan. This is in addition to the provisional registration it had received for Rajasthan. The company is based out of Kota.

Seven MSOs, namely Sareraah Cable Network, Amba Cable Network, Ujjain Cable Network, Cable Operators Sangram Association, Alleppey Digital, Nadeem Cable Network and Space Tele Cable Network, have got licences to operate in the entire states of Rajasthan, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir respectively.

Cable Operators Sangram Association is an association of local cable operators (LCOs) in Kolkata and West Bengal.

Other licences have been issued for certain areas in a state or multiple states. Most of the licences have been issued for DAS Phase III and IV areas.

Further, the ministry has revised the areas of operation of DL GTPL Cabnet to the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh. In December 2015, the MSO’s areas of operation was revised to Surat, Tapi, Navasari & Dang districts in Gujarat, Dhule, Nandurbar & Jalgaon districts in Maharashtra except Nasik, and Khargon district in Madhya Pradesh. The MSO was issued provisional registration for Surat and Nashik in 2013.

Naagesh Chhabria-promoted Bhima Riddhi Infotainment’s MSO licence has been revised to Maharashtra, Karnataka and Goa. The registration was earlier limited to Maharashtra.

The MIB has not issued any permanent MSO licence in July. The ministry, however, has revised the areas of operation of one permanent MSO licencee, Venkata Sai Media, to Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

The earlier registration was for the districts of Srikakulam, Vijayanagaram, Visakhapatanam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore in the State of Andhra Pradesh and in the district of Greater Hyderabad, Rangareddy, Medak, Nizamabad, Mehaboob Nagar, Warangal, Sangareddy and Khammam in Telangana.