18 Dec 2017
Live Post
Dish TV-Videocon d2h merger deal concludes as MIB grants approval
Airtel Blocked From Aadhaar Platform After Being Accused Of Misusing Data
Railways mulling installation of CCTV cameras inside trains
Interpol denies India's request for red corner notice against Zakir Naik, cites lack of evidence as reason
The Rebooting Of Rahul Gandhi, 49th Congress President

MIB grants provisional registration to Atul Saraf’s ABS Digital Cable and Catvision

MUMBAI: Atul Saraf-promoted ABS Digital Cable and BSE-listed cable TV equipment manufacturer Catvision are among the 37 multi-system operators (MSOs) to receive provisional registrations for operating in digital addressable system (DAS) areas from the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting (MIB).

With the grant of these 37 registrations, the total number of provisional MSO registrations in the country has gone up to 210 as on 21 October. The bulk of the registrations have been issued for DAS Phases III and IV.

Both ABS Digital Cable and Catvision have received pan-India provisional registration. Apart from ABS and Catvision, Uttarakhand-based Pundir Star Digital and Goa-based Goa Digital Co-operative Society have also received pan-India provisional registrations.

The MIB has granted only one permanent registration in this round to Tamil Nadu-based Nilgiri Cable TV. It has also revised the permitted areas of operation of Andhra Pradesh-based Bhimavaram Community Network to Andhra Pradesh and Telangana under Phases III and IV.

The total number of permanent MSO registrations stands at 230 as on 21 October.

The deadline for DAS Phase III covering 38.79 million television households across 630 districts and 7,709 urban areas spanning 29 states and five Union Territories will end on 31 December 2015.

As per the MSO registration list released on 6 October, the ministry had granted permanent registration to Manthan Broadband Services for Kolkata under Phase I, Howrah and Ranchi under Phase II, and all cities/towns in India under Phase III.

The new registration subsumed the previous permanent registration issued to the MSO for Kolkata. The previous registration was issued on 29 June 2012, but it was with effect from 30 September 2006.

The ministry had also issued 27 provisional registrations to take the total count to 173 as on 30 September.


Also read: